top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan Gibbons

Travis West - #AFOW

Today, I am featuring author Travis West whose story "Buttercream Marjories" is included in the anthology "A Flash of Words," alongside my own brand-new story, "Takin' Pictures."


What was the inspiration for your story? I had a dream about walking into a bridal convention with a complete stranger. The man had a mistress, and both she and his bride-to-be were in attendance. The two began fighting over him, and the fight spread amongst the other ladies. I was originally going to call the story “Bridal Wave,” but felt that was too punny of a title. It’s actually the first story of mine based on a dream.


Was there a time when writing where you had to sit back stunned at what just happened? If so, what was it? If anything, I was shocked at the genre. I sat down to write a little piece of slapstick, and I ended up with this almost absurdist horror story. I enjoy reading horror, but I’ve never intended to write in that particular genre. So I was surprised at what the story became.


Do you write every day? Don’t I wish. That’s the goal, isn’t it? I get it in where I can fit it in.


Does your sexual orientation play a role in the development of your character? Not intentionally. But I don’t see how it couldn’t. I do write a lot of “dude-ish” stories and I am aware that I do so. Sometimes I’m self-conscious of that fact, and other times I embrace it.


Was this the first time you wrote a flash fiction story? Yes. I’ve since written another, “Halloween, Aisle 6,” which was published by Flash Fiction Magazine.


Apart from writing, what do you do for fun? Hang out with our group of friends and watch Kansas Jayhawks basketball or Kansas City Chiefs football. Cookouts. And as many concerts as I can realistically manage.


Which author(s) influenced your writing the most? So, so many. Stephen King, S.E. Hinton, Chaim Potok, Roald Dahl, Michael Chabon, Patti Smith, Ray Bradbury … the list goes on. As of this interview I am 150 pages into Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, and I’m already blown away by her writing.


How long did it take to write your story? I think “Buttercream Marjories” took about a week and a half.


If you were on death row, what would you want your last meal to be? Either chile verde from a certain local Mexican restaurant, or chicken fried steak made with a saltine cracker crust. But I hope I never do anything worthy of death row. Or do you mean Death Row records? In that case, I wouldn’t eat anything Suge Knight gave me.


Pick up a copy of "A Flash of Words" in paperback or eBook at any book retailer worldwide, including Amazon. If purchased directly from Scout Media, you will receive a FREE companion soundtrack CD!! #ScoutMedia#AFOW

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page