top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan Gibbons

Aaron Wulf - #AFOW

Today, I am featuring author Aaron Wulf whose story "The Cook" is included in the anthology "A Flash of Words," alongside my own brand-new story, "Takin' Pictures."


If you had to do one thing differently with your story, what would it be?

My mind was pretty set in what I wanted in the story. And after I thought about this question for a few minutes, I really couldn’t think of anything I would have added or cut, which I can’t say about any other stories I’ve written. I’d call that a success.


What was the inspiration for your story?

SPOILER ALERT FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ MY STORY. I don’t remember when I first had the idea, probably one day while I was working my very repetitive job which makes me swim in the pool of my thoughts. One day I decided it would be cool to have a story based on the antagonist's point of view, but make the reader think she was the protagonist until the end.


Was there a time when writing where you had to sit back stunned at what just happened? If so, what was it?

No, not really. I already had everything plotted out so I didn’t have anything major happen that I didn’t already plan for.


What do you think is the key to writing a compelling flash story?

Spend more time cultivating a detailed back story than you do actually creating the plot itself.


Do you write every day?

Normally no, but I’m trying to push myself to write at least 300 words a day to build a consistent habit.


Does your sexual orientation play a role in the development of your character?

Nope.


Was this the first time you wrote a flash fiction story?

Yes it was! I found it more challenging than the other stories I’ve written which have been between 8k-18k because I really had to stay strictly to the main plot, every word had to be relevant.


What was your favorite story in the book besides your own?

I really enjoyed They Come by Whimsy Gardner.


Apart from writing, what do you do for fun?

I hang out with my fun-loving wife and three children! I also love to read, love my music, and love to learn new things.


Which author(s) influenced your writing the most?

Stephen King (of course), Mark Lawrence, Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.


Can you relate to any of the characters in your flash fiction story?

Nothing that’s immediately obvious to me. And that’s a good thing.


What is your writing space like?

I write on my phone, and I take advantage to write whenever I have alone time, wherever that may be, whether it be on the couch, in my car, on the floor, on the ceiling, you know, whatever.


Did your story turn out the way you planned, or were there some surprises along the way?

There’s always surprises when your story begins to thrive with life of its own, but for the most part this story was how I envisioned it to be.


How long did it take to write your story?

Between writing it, editing it, waiting for beta readers, and polishing it like an OCDMF, about 2 weeks.


Do you think writing flash fiction is a challenge with the word restriction?

Definitely! Being pretty new to writing, it really opened my eyes to how much I can explain in very little words, and challenged me to decide what was important enough to leave in and irrelevant enough to cut out.


If you were on death row, what would you want your last meal to be?

Homemade macaroni and cheese, for sure.


What is a quote that you find inspirational/motivates you to write?

“The first draft of everything is shit.” - Ernest Marc Hemingway


Pick up a copy of "A Flash of Words" in paperback or eBook at any book retailer worldwide, including Amazon. If purchased directly from Scout Media, you will receive a FREE companion soundtrack CD!! #ScoutMedia#AFOW

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page