top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan Gibbons

Pyra Kane - #AFOW

Today, I am featuring author Pyra Kane [Annelise Moore] whose story "Recollected: Sanguine" is included in the anthology "A Flash of Words," alongside my own brand-new story, "Takin' Pictures".


What was the inspiration for your story?

“Recollected: Sanguine” was actually inspired by a novel idea I haven’t gotten around to yet (which was inspired by a personal event), about a girl suffering from depression who goes to bed one night, only to become trapped in a world within her own mind. There, a godly being tries to convince her that suicide is her only escape from her cruel life, and the dark side of her mind sets out to save her. My story idea came to be when one morning, I thought, “what if the dark side of someone’s mind failed to save them?” Next thing I knew, I’d written my first flash fiction story.


What do you think is the key to writing a compelling flash story?

My answer goes for any genre, but I believe interesting (in my case, usually non-human) characters dropped into an uncommon situation makes for the best kind of stories.


Do you write every day?

I try. But like most adults, my job keeps me busy 87% of the time.


Does your sexual orientation play a roll in the development of your character?

No. I let my characters choose everything about themselves, including sexuality. Most are straight, but I have a handful of gays, and even one pansexual (not yet written) character. And now I’m rambling. Let’s just continue.


What was your favorite story in the book besides your own?

I have yet to read through the entire anthology (been busy with work. Please don’t judge me), but out of the ones I’ve finished, “Fatal Application” really stuck out to me.


Apart from writing, what do you do for fun?

I’m a bit of a geek for anime and videogames, as well as reading, talking to my friends, and stalking my cats.


Which author(s) influenced your writing the most?

My style with word choice and sentence structure comes simply from my own mind, but plot and character ideas are usually inspired by Japanese authors, such as Reki Kawahara and Fujino Omori.


Can you relate to any of the characters in your flash fiction story?

Considering “Recollected: Sanguine” was inspired by my novel idea, which was inspired by, as I mentioned, a personal event, I’d like to say yes. The feeling of knowing you’re in a dark place while having no idea how to fix it is something I’m much too familiar with.


What is your writing space like?

My bedroom floor. Beige and cushy. 10/10


How long did it take to write your story?

It’s been a while since then, so my memory is a little foggy. But considering my issue with procrastination, I’d say it probably took around one to two weeks.


If you were on death row, what would you want your last meal to be?

A Mexican food buffet, complete with an entire tray of enchiladas. That can be a thing, right?


What is a quote that you find inspirational/motivates you to write?

“No idea is a bad idea. It all depends on the execution.”


Pick up a copy of "A Flash of Words" in paperback or eBook at any book retailer worldwide, including Amazon. If purchased directly from Scout Media, you will receive a FREE companion soundtrack CD!! #ScoutMedia#AFOW

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page